Inland Sea is Stephan Micus’ 22nd solo album for ECM, each one taking his audience on musical journeys to far-flung places and unique sound worlds. For decades, he has been travelling, collecting and studying musical instruments from all over the world and creating new music for them. Micus often combines instruments from different cultures and continents that would never normally be played together, adapting and extending them, and rarely playing them in a traditional manner. The instruments then become a cast of characters that help tell the particular story of that album. While he plays nine different instruments on Inland Sea, the lead role belongs to the nyckelharpa – a keyed fiddle from Sweden, with an array of other instruments and vocals providing layers and textures throughout.


ECM records


Stephan Micus   Balanzikom, Nyckelharpa, Chord and Bass Zithers, Shakuhachi, Voice, Steel String Guitar, Genbri



BOWMAN trio » Bowman Trio


Bowman Trio has written their music around the imaginary adventurer J. Bowman, portraying his lively phases on, for example, Mount Everest. The trio’s sound could be described as swinging, catchy and nuanced; the narrative melodicity of “Hard Work”, tender melancholy of “Summer in Visby and the tight gangster swing of the closing track, “How to Win a Gunfight”, the album’s moods and atmospheres surprise and delight the ear. The album captures the intimate milieu of the coffee shop and the trio’s smoky, cool swing in all its hues wonderfully.


WE JAZZ records

Tomi Nikku, trumpet / Joonas Tuuri, bass / Sami Nummela, drums


ROY HARGROVE quintet » ‘Top Of My Head’ » Live Studio Session


He’s known as one of the top trumpet players in jazz for the past quarter century, and returned to the KNKX studios with a fantastic new song for the city Roy says has always inspired him.


Roy Hargrove – trumpet

Justin Robinson – alto sax

Tadataka Unno – piano

Ameen Saleem – bass

Quincy Phillips – drums


MIROSLAV VITOUS » Music of Weather Report


The great Czech bassist returns once more to the music of Weather Report, the group he co-founded with Joe Zawinul and Wayne Shorter in 1970. It’s the improvisational freedom of the early Weather Report that most interests Vitous, and he abides by their old rallying call “everyone solos and no one solos”. Well-known Report repertoire re-explored includes “Birdland”, “Seventh Arrow”, “Scarlet Woman”, “Pinocchio” and “Morning Lake” and Miroslav’s group also plays “Acrobat’s Issues” a piece which the first Weather Report line-up played but didn’t record. Interspersed along the way are three new blues tunes from Vitous’s pen. The band, driven by the astounding double drumming of Gerald Cleaver and Nasheet Waits, is energetic and daring, juxtaposing time playing and rhythmically free pulses, with Miroslav’s arco bass playing sometimes sounding like a third horn in between the two saxophones.


ECM records

Miroslav Vitous   Double Bass, Keyboards
Gary Campbell   Soprano and Tenor Saxophone
Roberto Bonisolo   Soprano and Tenor Saxophone
Aydin Esen   Keyboards
Gerald Cleaver   Drums
Nasheet Waits   Drums



AMBROSE AKINMUSIRE » Maurice & Michael (sorry I didn’t say hello) 


I feel lucky for having listened this tune played live!



Maurice & Michael (sorry I didn’t say hello) 

Ambrose Akinmusire – trumpet

Sam Harris — Piano
Harish Raghavan — Bass
Justin Brown — Drums